5th Annual Airports Going Green Conference Speaker Presentations
November 4 – 7, 2011

Monday, November 5

The Future of Airport Sustainability

Moderator: James Crites, Dallas Fort/Worth International Airport


Nigel Milton, Heathrow International Airport

Marijn Ornstein, Amsterdam-Schiphol International Airport

Marc St-Jean, Greater Toronto Airports Authority

Nancy Young, Airlines for America

Preview of the Midwest Aviation Sustainable Biofuels Initiative (MASBI)

Moderator: Amy Malick, Chicago Department of Aviation


Jimmy Samartzis, United Airlines

Stephen Emmert, Boeing Commercial Airplanes

Amy Francetic, Clean Energy Trust

James Rekoske, Honeywell UOP

FAA Reauthorization & Sustainability Mandates

Session Leaders:

Christa Fornarotto, Federal Aviation Administration

Ralph Thompson, Federal Aviation Administration

Patrick Magnotta, Federal Aviation Administration

Chris Hugunin, Federal Aviation Administration

Take a Bite Out of Green Concessions

Moderator: Ted Anasis, San Diego County Regional Airport Authority


Steve Dietz, Food Donation Connection

Thomas Kornacki, Hudson Group

Emily Lau, San Francisco International Airport

What’s New in Sustainable Products? Exhibitor/Vendor PechaKucha/Speed Dating

Leader: David Robbins, Chicago Department of Aviation

1. ThermoEnergy

2. Walsh Construction

3. Johnson Controls

4. Sain Engineering

5. American Safety Technologies

6. Oracle

7. Tecta America Corp

Linking Building Design and Human Health

Moderator: Mary Ann Lazarus, HOK


Robert Freeman, Los Angeles World Airports

Dan Gilkison, Port of Portland

Jim Stanislaski, Gensler

Closing the Loop: Toward a NetZero Airport

Moderator: Ryan Spicer, Dallas Fort Worth International Airport


Bob Lucas, Charlotte-Douglas International Airport

Kathryn Crighton-Smith, FedEx

Jonathan Strauss, Constellation Energy

New Approaches to Airport Sustainability Planning

Moderator: Michael Cheyne, Hartsfield Jackson Atlanta International Airport


Jim Elwood, Aspen/Pitkin County Airport

Christine Vitt, Metropolitan Nashville Airport Authority

Paul Manasjan, San Diego County Regional Airport Authority

Won’t You Be My Neighbor? Connecting Airports and Communities

Moderator: Christopher Drew, AS+GG Architects


Gregory Owens, Director, Miami International Airport

Kane Carpenter, Austin Bergstrom International Airport

Get Smarter: Current Airport Cooperative Research Program (ACRP) Sustainability Projects

Moderator: Gail Staba, Transportation Research Board


Joan Zatopek, Oakland International Airport

Arlyn Purcell, Port Authority of New York & New Jersey

Bruno Miller, Metron Aviation

Workshop: Implementing SAM for Concessions & Tenants


Ted Woosley, Vice President, Landrum & Brown

Gene Peters, Director, Ricondo & Associates


Bradley Maher, HMS Host

Stephen Miller, MAC One Midway, LLC

Making it Happen: Implementing Innovative Energy Programs

Moderator: Dan Raudebaugh, Center for Transportation & the Environment


Aimee Fenlon, Denver International Airport

James Grant, HNTB Corporation

George Bourassa, Jacobs Engineering Group, Inc.